Skip to content

THEY CAME FIRST for…

05/05/2010

I am a bit perplexed by the lack of outrage and action on the jailing of Eric Cropp for a system error.  Perhaps some do not think this is the case to speak out on due to some grey areas.

Please allow me to paraphrase a famous quote from Martin Niemöller (1892–1984). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_they_came   With respect for Pastor Niemöller:

THEY CAME FIRST for an incompetent pharmacist, and I didn’t speak up because I am not incompetent.

THEN THEY CAME for a pharmacist for making errors, and I didn’t speak up because I do not make errors.

THEN THEY CAME for an unremorseful pharmacist, and I didn’t speak up because I am remorseful.

THEN THEY CAME for me, and by that time no one was left to speak up.

At different times in following the Eric Cropp case a few items came up that caused me to reflect on the paraphrasing above.  It was whispered that he was an incompetent pharmacist, given all of the errors he made.  Most of his errors came after the tragic mistake that caused the death of a child.  His distress was such that other mistakes were made.  His emotional health was not addressed from what I understand.  He seemed “unremorseful” was an additional comment that was made in some of the reports.  None of these unfortunate things justified his license being revoked, and certainly do not justify the criminal prosecution. 

Please speak up forcefully, loudly and unequivocally for a just culture.

Posted via web

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

